Forget Blueberry & Poppy Seed

A little known fact about me (and my dad), I hate bananas!  I’ve tried to like them, really I have but there is just something about them that makes me gag. This created a real problem for Mom.  While other mothers were making banana bread what could she do?  She made carrot bread and zucchini bread.  That’s right carrot and zucchini.  I tell people about this and they look at me like I’ve grown a second head, but it was delicious.

I haven’t really mentioned my kids yet but I’ll start out by saying I have a couple picky eaters. Yet the one thing they agree on is bananas.  YUCK.  Needless to say, I often have some bananas that are beyond the point of pealing and eating.  So what is a mom to do who hates bananas?  Enter Mom’s “all season bread” recipe and some muffin pans.

The original source of this recipe is unknown to me but I’ll write it with Mom’s changes and add my edits in parenthesis.

 All Season Bread

3 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
3 eggs
1 ¾ cups brown sugar (I still use the 2 cups the original recipe called for, bad mom)
¾ cups vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla
1 cup chopped nuts
½ cup ground nuts (I do one or the other not both)
1 cup moist fruit*
2 cups shredded vegetables**

* Moist fruit: drained crushed pineapple, apple sauce, cooked pumpkin (this is where I add the gross nasty bananas pureed to banana goo)

** Shredded vegetables: carrots, zucchini, tart apples (I know, apples are not vegetables)

Preheat oven to 350°

Grease and flour loaf pans (this is where I switch to muffin pans, much easier for kids to eat)

Combine flour, soda, salt, baking powder, spices and nuts.  Set aside

Prepare fruit and vegetables, set aside.

Beat eggs lightly (in) a large bowl.  Add brown sugar, oil and vanilla, beat until creamy.  Stir in fruit and vegetables.  Add dry ingredients, stirring only until moistened.  Spoon batter into loaf pans. (I ice cream scoop into muffin cups)

Baking time: 2 large loaf pans: about 1 hour

3 medium loaf pans: 35-45 minutes

8 mini loaf pans: 25-35 minutes

(muffin pans 15-20 minutes)

– or until a toothpick comes out dry from center.

This is a great way to get some veggies in those anti veggie kids.  In the first day my son ate 2 and daughter 4.  The little guy cried today when he thought I gave the last of them to our mail-lady (My mail carrier has a big fan following at our house, particularly my dog who recognizes the sound of her vehicle from half a mile away.  If Daisy is waiting by the mailbox, she’ll get two biscuits.)

This batch will be gone soon.  I’m out of bananas so I think I’ll try the next batch with some pumpkin puree.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.