Crock Pot, Schmock Pot

I spend a lot of time on Pinterest and when I say a lot, I mean A LOT.  One thing I’m constantly seeing pinned is crock pot recipes to make your life easy.  I’m sorry but crock pot recipes don’t make my life easy.  They require planning.  I actually have to know what I’m going to cook for dinner IN THE MORNING or even the night before.  That’s just not me.  About two weeks out of every year, I menu plan, the rest of the time I wing it.  That is why my best friend, thanks to mom, is the pressure cooker.  You heard me right, pressure cooker.  I can still remember the smell of the beef & beer & noodles coming from the stove as my mom’s 70’s pressure cooker rocked and whistled on the stove. Unfortunately, by the time my aunt bought me a pressure cooker for my wedding, they no longer have the weighted rocking thing but at least they still whistle.

Check out that great steam! We’re cookin’ now.

The pressure cooker does in less than an hour what it takes all day for a crock pot to do, seriously.  Tonight I’m using mine to replicate a recipe that my husband would normally spend the better part of a day doing on the smoker.  Granted, we won’t get the awesome smoky flavor but we will get pull apart perfect pork for pulled pork sandwiches in less than an hour.  I start with a small pork roast, coat it in Ken’s pork rub (sorry folks that’s his super secret recipe, I think he found it via google.)  He makes all his rubs with Penzey’s spices, if you want to do it right make your own or buy a good rub!  Heat some oil in the cooker and brown the meat.  I then added 2 cups of chicken stock (it’s what I had on hand).  I thought about adding some beer like mom and the beef & noodles but really, my Founders Porter and I don’t need to be separated by pork.  The liquid quantity depends on your cooker’s directions and how much meat you add.  Put the lid on and lock it.  DO NOT forget to lock it or you will be sorry.  You’ll end up with a burnt nasty mess and under cooked food.  Believe me, I’ve done it.  Locking the lid starts the seal so the pressure can build and the food won’t cook fast without the pressure.  Now wait for that whistle.  My Fagor pressure cooker has a little yellow nub that pops up when the pressure is ready which is when I turn my heat down to simmer and start the timer for the 45 minutes it will take to cook.  Again, check your manual for how yours works.  Don’t have a manual? Do an internet search, there’s even a forum out there dedicated to pressure cooks.

Once the timer goes off, remove from heat and let it cool naturally before opening.  If you’re in a real hurry follow you cooker’s directions for quick release.  Shred your meat, add your choice of sauce. Ours is Ken’s homemade bourbon barbeque (yes, I let him use good bourbon that could be imbibed) and, once again, that is his tale to tell.

The finished product, pressure cooker pulled pork.

Now if only I could remember Mom’s beef & beer & noodles recipe.  Maybe I can get her over here to guest post…

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crock Pot, Schmock Pot

  1. e.marie says:

    high five on the slow cooker hating… everything i make in it comes out tasting like weird, herby soup… i don’t have a pressure cooker because that just scares the living poo out of me… exploding pots? no thanks! but your pulled pork looks yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

