Knee High by the 4th of July

It is now October and I promised a series of Halloween focused posts for the month highlighting the early torture I endured at the hands of my mother and her Singer.  Now Mom didn’t always act alone when it came time to create her epic Halloween costumes.  She was often egged on by my paternal Grandmother.  There are a few things you should know about Grandma S. before we begin.

Grandma S lived just a mile down the road from my family for most of my childhood and, next to my mom, was the woman I spent the most time with growing up.  She also worked at my elementary school as the librarian so every Halloween she had a front row seat to the costume parade.  Many people consider shopping a hobby but for my grandma it was an art form.  We spent more Saturdays than I can count searching for something “new”.  She may have claimed that “there was nothing new under the sun” but she still managed to find new and unique items all the time.  But come Halloween time “new” took on a whole new meaning.

By the time I started Kindergarten, Grandma had been working in the school for more than 5 years.  She’d seen her fair share of store bought costumes and that just wouldn’t do for me, especially with Mom’s ability to transform fabric into fashion.  I’m not sure who came up with the idea for the first costume but I know for a fact it wasn’t me!

So, what do Halloween and an old Midwestern saying about the life cycle of corn have in common…..

That’s me, Corn on the Cob.  Padded, quilted and topped off with a green felt cap.

For those of you who were little girls in the 80’s, I’m sure you’re admiring Jamie in her Strawberry Shortcake costume.  Yeah, my mom made that one too.  My friend gets an 80’s icon, I get corn.

This entry was posted in Sewing, Slice of Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knee High by the 4th of July

  1. The only costume I remember my mom making me was an animal dominoe!

Leave a Reply

