Round ‘n Round We Go

If you haven’t noticed already, I’m going to let you in on a little secret… I’m currently obsessed with hats. I’m not sure if it’s just that fall has arrived in Michigan and hat wearing season has arrived or if I just like knitting in the round.  There is something so soothing about going round and round and never having to flip the knitting over.  It doesn’t hurt that most hat projects are completed in a few sittings as well.

Mary Mary scarf and matching hat

I recently completed the Mary Mary scarf for my mother and then had more than enough yarn to make a matching hat.  I took a basic cable hat pattern that used the same size yarn and needle as the scarf and substituted the lace portion for the purl stitches.  Other than getting distracted during the decrease and making the hat a little extra long, it turned out pretty cute.  Mom claims she gets lots of compliments but she may just be trying to make me feel good about myself.

My daughter is my biggest fan and often claims my creations before I can gift them to anyone else or wear them myself.  She would have tried to claim Mom’s hat too but she didn’t like the color.  We sent Mom back to the New Ewe to pick up the same yarn in a different color.  But then DD decided she wanted a unique pattern all her own with a pom pom.  While hoarding on pinterest, I found this pattern but for some reason the Finnish to English translation lost something.  I used the pictures as a starting point and created this hat for my girl:

Daphne’s Braided Cable Hat

Daphne in her braided cable hat with pom pom

*note: this is a child size hat and fits really snug on my 9 year old.  Definitely make adjustments in gauge depending on the finished size you want.

Yarn: James C. Brett Marble Chunky
200g/341 yards
Suggested needle size 6 mm or US size 10, 16” circular

Cast on 65 stitches using long tail cast on or your choice of stretchy cast on
Row 1-4: *Knit 9 purl 4 *
Row 5: *move 3 to cable needle hold to front, knit 3, knit 3 off cable needle, knit 3, purl 4 *
Row 6-9: as row 1-4
Row 10: knit 3, move 3 stitches to cable needle hold to back, knit 3, knit 3 off cable needle, purl 4 *

Repeat rows 1-10 two more times or until your work measures about 5 ½ inches (you may need to adjust the placement of your cable row in your decrease depending on where you are in your cabling when you begin decreasing)
Decrease row 1: *knit 9, purl 1, p2tog, purl 1*
D Row 2: *knit 9, purl 1, p2tog*
D row 3: *knit 9, p2tog*
D row 4: *knit 8, ssk*
D row 5: *move 3 to cable needle hold to front, k3, k3 off cable needle, knit 1, ssk*
D row 6: *knit 6, ssk*
D row 7: *knit 5, ssk*
D row 8: *knit 4, ssk*
D row 9: *knit 3, ssk*
D row 10: *knit 2, ssk*
D row 11: *knit 1, ssk*
Run yarn tail through remaining stitches and tie off.  Attach pom pom.
*repeat to end of round*

You could substitute k2tog for ssk in the decrease depending on your preference.

Notes on my Decrease:  Ok, here is where my lack of experience really shows.  I have only altered other patterns or followed hat patterns exactly so trying to figure out how to best decrease this design was a bit frustrating and pretty unsuccessful.  All the instructional websites I found were very math heavy and focused on working a decrease on a stockinet stitch.  Because I was working a fat cable, I wanted a decrease that would look good with the cable. I ended up decreasing too slowly which resulted in a pointy top.  Luckily, this hat gets a pom pom which effectively disguised my error. I’ve reworked the decrease for the purpose of this pattern.  I might make some other changes if I did this pattern again.  If you make this pattern, let me know how you decrease it and what you think of the results.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

