Like Father Like Daughter

From the day of my birth (30 some years ago today), I’ve been told that I look like my dad. This isn’t a bad thing, he’s still a pretty good looking guy. He’s aged rather well through the years, almost too well. On more than one occasion over the last 15 years, we’ve been mistaken as a couple when my mom wasn’t with us… ewww. But the one thing that always got me about being told I looked like my dad was the fact that he has a full beard and mustache. I’m not a particularly hirsute person and I definitely don’t have facial hair!

Then, early this past year, my cousin and I were browsing etsy together and stumbled across the growing fad of knitted and crocheted facial hair. We concocted a plan for me to knit up a beard for her boyfriend (who struggles in the beard growing area) for Christmas. I managed to get it done by Thanksgiving and sent her a preview picture of me modeling the beard…..

The spitting image of Dad

The spitting image of Dad

Dan Jr. Beard

Yarn: worsted or bulky (it doesn’t take much)
Needles: size 8

Cast on 60 stitches (This makes a good size for a man out of bulky weight and a woman out of worsted. Adjust your number of stitches cast-on rather than gauge. In bulky for a woman’s beard I cast on 54 instead.)

Work in seed stitch for 2 rows (if you’re like me just watch your stitches and knit the purls and purl the knits)
Row 1: k1, p1
Row 2: p1, k1
Row 3: k1, *p1,k1* 12 times, bind off 10, p1, *k1, p1* to end
Row 4 : p1, *k1, p1* 12 times, cast on 10 (I used a reverse e cast on), k1, p1 to end
Row 5-8: continue in seed stitch
Row 9: bind off first 5 stitches, continue in seed stitch to end
Row 10: bind off first 5 stitches, continue in seed stitch to end
Row 11-12: continue in seed stitch
Row 13: slip first stitch, k2tog, *p1, k1* to last 2 stitches, p2tog
Row 14: slip first stitch, p2tog, *k1, p1* to last 2 stitches, k2tog
Repeat rows 13 & 14 until around 20 stitches remain on needles, bind off.

Your row 13 & 14 may be different than mine depending on the number of stitches you started with but just remember to work your seed stitch and you should be fine.  Sew or knit into the hat of your choice.

This knits up really fast (about an hour or two) and makes a quick last minute gift for those with a quirky sense of humor.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like Father Like Daughter

  1. Mary Sullivan says:

    Now your Dad wants to go buy some Grecian formula so his beard can be braon again.!

Leave a Reply

