Chips, Dips & Dorks

It’s Super Bowl Sunday, the one day a year that you will actually find me watching football with my husband.  I generally have no idea who is playing, nor do I care.  What I do care about is the commercials, the half-time show and our squares.  For those who don’t know, squares is a game where people bet on the score at the end of each quarter by picking empty squares on a grid and then the point combo is filled in.  It’s fun mostly because there is absolutely no strategy.  Last year we won one quarter and the final which is the highest paying, whoo hoo!

While many celebrate the Super Bowl with a party and all the accompanying party food, we generally don’t, but after over a month of sticking to a strict menu plan, I had to have a little something special… chip dip.

Now this isn’t any old plastic tub from the grocery store chip dip.  This is my dad’s favorite garlic chip dip that was so special in our house that it had its own Tupperware.  A Friday movie night wasn’t complete at our house until the beta max was in the VCR,  the Pringles were open and the chip dip whipped up.  I was a little concerned about sharing this recipe because I wasn’t sure the original source would want me to but my dad remembered that it actually came off the back of a Fritos bag. I don’t recommend eating it with Fritos but maybe that’s just me and Dad.

Mmm mmm good

Mmm mmm good

Chip Dip

8 oz package cream cheese (Philly all the way!)
2 Tbsp mayonnaise
2 Tbsp milk (original recipe calls for cream, I often use half & half)
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp onion juice (you can buy this in a jar but I grate a fresh onion)
½ tsp salt
Dash of cayenne pepper or white pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced

Mix everything but the garlic together until smooth.  Add garlic at the very end.  If you like your dip a little thinner just add more milk/half & half.  Serve with Ruffles.

Don’t even think about substituting another ridged chip, they just don’t hold up to the dip like Ruffles.  We recently tried Jays and they just fell apart in the dip.  Be prepared for some strong breath after but it is so worth it.

(Who can name the movie I stole my title from?!?!)

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chips, Dips & Dorks

  1. Mary Sullivan says:

    Best dip ever and addicting!

Leave a Reply

