Just for you, Mom

I’m behind my personal goal for blogging but really who cares.  Who am I really doing this for?  My Mom and I.  So, in honor of Mother’s Day, I’m making a special post just for Mom.

Mom passed the sewing reins on to me, though I still get her to make the occasional item for her grandkids, but what is she doing to keep the creative juices flowing?  Making jewelry!  I don’t really remember what got her interested in beading (sorry, Mom) but she’s been at it for at least a decade now.  Early on, I was roped in as the design consultant (yeah, art degree) and I will still give her a push in a certain direction every now and then but this is really her thing.  Recently, a necklace popped up in my pinterest feed but the image led nowhere and the google image search just brought me back to pinterest.  A few ebay and etsy purchases later, I had the supplies and she made me this amazing statement necklace.

Three Strand White turquoise with Turkish hammered gold accents.  Amazing!

Three Strand White turquoise with Turkish hammered gold accents. Amazing!

Here are a few others she’s made on demand:

Found this in a magazine in orange for $500!  Mom made it in pink quartz with orange crystal accents.  One of a kind.

Found this in a magazine in orange for $500! Mom made it in pink quartz with orange crystal accents. One of a kind.

December birthday girls must have lots of turquoise.

December birthday girls must have lots of turquoise.

Extra long and sparkly for the holidays.

Extra long and sparkly for the holidays.

You can find more of her jewelry in her etsy shop: www.mandkdesigns.etsy.com.  If you like something you’ve seen here she’ll take custom orders too.

This entry was posted in M & K Designs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just for you, Mom

  1. Nancy L Cramer says:

    SPECTACULAR! Mary and Karen you are both so talented!

  2. Mary Sullivan says:

    Thank you. Love always, MOM

  3. e1aine says:

    Beautiful pieces,

Leave a Reply

