Long Time No See

A year is way too long to go without posting but here I am, back again.  For 2014 I’ve committed to doing one project a week and share it on my Pinterest board 52 weeks.  I’ve forced Mom to join me mostly so we can look back and see all that we accomplished this year.  Of course, knitting has been my primary focus.  So far I’ve been working from other peoples patterns but this week I’ve developed a new pattern of my own and I love it so much I have to share it.

The image that launched a thousand hats (or just two)

The image that launched a thousand hats (or just two)

Anyone familiar with my blog (all three of you) knows that I have a thing for wanting knits that I see but somehow have no pattern available.  This latest came from a pin of a fashion spread.  Time to count stitches and work out a pattern!  Obviously I don’t want to be a complete knit plagiarizer (is that a thing?) so I’ve made a few changes.

Diamond Pom Pom Hat

Materials:
2 skeins Ella Rae Superwash Chunky
US size 7 16” circular
US size 10 16” circular
US size 10 double pointed needles (I used 5 for this)

Stitch abbreviations:
t2rp: This is for a 2 stitch cable purling the second stitch.  Knit second stitch leaving it on the needle, purl the first stitch then pull both stitches off.
t2lp: Purl second stitch through the back loop, knit first stitch then pull both stitches off.

imageHat Brim: Using the size 7 circular needles, cast on 64 stitches and join for working in the round.  To replicate the look of the inspiration hat I used eskimimimakes alternating cast on for ultimate stretch.  I started with a slip knot (which I wouldn’t do if I made this again) and joined for working in the round with a 65th stitch passed over the first stitch.  This is why my rib rows will start with a purl stitch vs. a knit stitch to match up with the alternating cast on which creates a k1, p1 rib start.

Rows 1 -20: p1, k1 around

Body of the hat: If you did a k1, p1 vs. p1, k1 like me you’ll need to move a purl stitch from the beginning of the round to the end to match up your knit stitches with a knit row in the cuff for a neat transition.

Row 1-2: *p5, [k1,p1] 4 times, p3 *repeat to end of round
Row 3: *p4 [t2rp] twice, p1, [t2lp] twice, p3*repeat to end of round
Row 4: *p4, k1, p1, k1, p3, k1, p1, k1, p3 *repeat to end of round
Row 5: *p3 [t2rp] twice, p3, [t2lp] twice p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 6: *p3, k1, p1, k1, p5, k1, p1, k1, p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 7: *p2 [t2rp] twice, p5, [t2lp] twice p1 *repeat to end of round
Row 8: *p2, k1, p1, k1, p7, k1, p1, k1, p1 *repeat to end of round
Row 9: *p1 [t2rp] twice, p7, [t2lp] twice *repeat to end of round
Rows 10-20(or 22 like mine): *p1, k1, p1, k1, p9, k1, p1, k1 *repeat to end of round
Row 21: *p1 [t2lp] twice, p7, [t2rp] twice *repeat to end of round
Row 22: *p2, k1, p1, k1, p7, k1, p1, k1, p1 *repeat to end of round
Row 23: *p2 [t2lp] twice, p5, [t2rp] twice, p1 *repeat to end of round
Row 24: *p3, k1, p1, k1, p5, k1, p1, k1, p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 25: *p3 [t2lp] twice, p3, [t2rp] twice, p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 26: *p4, k1, p1, k1, p3, k1, p1, k1, p3 *repeat to end of round
Row 27: *p4 [t2lp] twice, p1, [t2rp] twice, p3 *repeat to end of round
Row 28: *p5 [k1,p1] 4 times, p3 *repeat to end of round

Decrease Rows:

Row 1: *p3, p2tog, [k1,p1] 3x, k1, p2tog, p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 2: *p4 [kn,p1] 3x, k1, p3 *repeat to end of round
Row 3: *p2, p2tog, [k1,p1] 3x, k1, p2tog, p2 *repeat to end of round
Row 4: *p1, ;2tog, [k1,p1] 3x, k1, p2tog * repeat to end of round
Row 5: *p2tog, k2tog 3x * repeat to end of round
Row 6: k2tog all the way around

Cut tail of yarn and pass it through the remaining stitches.  Make pom pom and attach it to the hat.  I used the jumbo (4.5”) pom pom maker that you can pick up at most craft/yarn stores or use whatever method you prefer.  Also, feel free to play around with rows 10-20 of the body.  On my first attempt I only did 6 rows but I found that required me to start reworking the twisted cable pattern before decreasing.  I ended up doing 12 rows of repeat and really like the way it slouches a bit under the weight of the giant pom pom when my DD wears it.

A note on this pattern vs the original inspiration.  The inspiration hat is actually worked in a garter stitch between the diamonds but I found that I liked the contrast of the reverse stockinette better.  Ok, honestly, it took me two hats to realize that I was making it different but let’s just chalk it up to not wanting to copy the original exactly.  Our little secret.image

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long Time No See

  1. Mary Sullivan says:

    Beautiful talent!

Leave a Reply

